future of Civilizations

Discussion in 'Community Talk' started by johnfg10, Apr 24, 2016.

?

1.7.10 or 1.9?

1. 1.7.10

9 vote(s)
    30.0%
  2. 1.9

18 vote(s)
    60.0%
  3. 1.8

3 vote(s)
    10.0%
  1. Sandstroem

Sandstroem Well-Known Member

Local Time:
    3:18 PM
    I like the ideas AceOfBase brings up, but I am not sure whether he is right in saying that packs like Crash Landing and Agrarian Skies actually keep their players around. My assumption would be that people play it and finish it and then also move on. The only reason for a constant number of players is probably the fact that those packs are still in the top 10 of the all-time-hqm-packs. If you google for hqm packs you find always the same list of maybe up to 20, probably less, packs.

I started playing modded maybe a year ago, so that is why I also only just 2 month ago had a look at Crash Landing. While I liked some ideas, I got annoyed by the whole Environmine system pretty fast, so that is why I did not got hooked. But every day people getting into modded and with HQM being one of the main motivators, packs like Agrarian Skies and Crash Landing will be long around after most of the other HQM packs will be forgotten. AS1 is even way more popular than AS2, just to give an example.

To sum it up, the things AceOfBase says might be right in regards to considering the marketing aspects, but I am not sure whether there really is a community on those servers with long time players.

Last edited: Apr 27, 2016
  2. I think if the modpack is based on the early industrial era then it would be as good a theme as any, specially for tech lovers. The problem is, there aren't many mods out there without those stupid 'grey and white future cubes'. Cheers to immersive engineering and railcraft!
    But, without any major changes to the way the modpack is played, it will become just-another-modpack. *hint*hint*Nations and wars*poke*poke*