1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Thaumcraft 'Easy Research' is horrible

Discussion in 'Archive (Suggestion and Feedback)' started by Millumi, Dec 9, 2015.

1. Millumi

Millumi Well-Known Member

Local Time:
    4:06 AM
    I've played on a lot of servers with thaumcraft, but this is my first time seeing something change it so the research table is no longer required for research, when I asked what was going on, I was told this was some sort of thing added in to make research easy.
    Utterly Ridiculous. While I get that this thing helps people who don't know about thaumcraft and only want early game stuff, it is absolutely PUNISHING to those who know what they are doing and are deeply into the mod. The reason? Aspects.

With normal research, you spend quite a bit of aspects to go through the mini-game of connecting the dots to get the research, but with this add-on, you have to spend a predetermined number of points on each piece of research, why this is bad is immediately obvious to anyone who knows thaumcraft: You can't choose which aspects you are spending. Here are the aspects that are in almost all the research: Instrumentum, Ordo, Praecatatio, permutatio, and tutamen to a lesser extent.
    The fatigue on research is to a very high extent when you need the same aspects over and over again, and not only does it make the mod much harder to get to the late game, it also ruins the journey to get there, what makes thaumcraft progression interesting/fun isn't only the connecting things on the minigame, but being able to take from many things you've scanned in the world, and put that into your research.When it's restricted to only the aspects to buy the research, most of the aspects end up being nearly useless.

Anyone else feel similar to me?

2. chugga_fan

chugga_fan ME 4M storage cell of knowledge, all the time

Local Time: